Watching the Years & Waiting

On this, the occasion of my follow up appointment for year 9.5 with thyroid cancer, I am aware that my cancer may be declared a benign condition during my lifetime. The frequent appearance of a research study about benign thyroid cancers is then quickly followed by an avalanche of news articles. Last week it was about “watch and wait” for all papillary tumors under 1.5cm, which are categorized as “low risk.” I have been in the survivor community long enough to be able to tell you this is not a sure thing and that I know of people who had tumors under that threshold who had second and third surgeries and multiple rounds of RAI. My tumor was 1.4cm and was on the verge of growing outside my thyroid. Would I have been called low risk and told to come back in six months? Would that have made any difference to where my life is today? I don’t know.

What I do know is that I continue to be that 37 year old woman who cannot be declared NED. Nothing has changed except my age and I know as I age with an empty uterus, empty left ring finger that I become less and less sympathetic to the patriarchal medical system.  Dr. Overinvolved showed me that I was only worthy of his attention and kindness when I fit the narrative, i.e. I was a reasonably attractive young woman with a “normal” body type. I’m not here for this anymore.

I also know that I continue to struggle with finding my place out in the world. There is the life that I am living, which is often small and limiting. There’s the many lives I dream about living, which are large, loud, and expansive. I continue to search for a new job while also possessing a wandering eye that has not given up on the dream of studying social work and public health, of making jewelry for pay, of being a freelance writer, of learning to weld and make metal art. I want to do and be all of these and my anxiety, anger, and disappointment take up so much room that there is no room for much else.

The wound healed. I can feel it, I can see it, but it is in a very tenuous state, a state that it will likely maintain for the rest of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

