Trauma Everlasting

If I were to draw my medical trauma, there would be three lines. One representing the cancer diagnosis, another for the medical error, and the last for my relationship with Dr. Overinvolved.  They would only be parallel for a short while before twisting into each other like a strand of DNA, becoming one spiral.  I find myself tangled up in this spiral again as I stare down the eve of my colonoscopy.  I am not hopeful that any of it will go well. I am expecting the sky to fall again and am bracing myself for the crash.

I baked cookies earlier for a friend of mine who is having a cancer scare of her own. I also had a rare flashback while standing in the middle of the kitchen, red spatula in hand. I stopped dead in my tracks. Dr. Overinvolved was standing at the sink and washing his hands, talking to me over his shoulder, looking back at me and saying, “There’s a 10% chance you have thyroid cancer” and it was the first time he had ever said  the word cancer to me and I remember at the time feeling shock and disassociating at its utterance. I was sitting on the table in that exam room, he was to my right. It was like I was right there again. I could hear his voice, feel that shock.  The baking stoppage was very brief as I immediately recognized it for what it was- a flashback -and quickly pulled myself out of it. This wasn’t the first sign of triggering. I had a medical nightmare a few nights ago, also a very rare occurrence these days. It was general- just an examination room and a table with one of those huge OR lights over it. That was enough and I forced myself awake, breathing hard.

I am on a low residue diet now, and as a veteran of the LID, even being on a medically restricted diet is bringing me back to when I had RAI treatment- how hungry I was, another surreal and inappropriate go around with Dr. Overinvolved, leaving radiology sobbing after being scanned multiple times for reasons that they refused to explain to me. Dr. Overinvolved being mean and dismissive when I told him about this and how I subsequently felt crazy.

There’s just so much to avoid that being triggered is a guarantee. None of this surprises me at all. It happens, it briefly takes me down, but then I get up, smooth my skirt, and keep going. There’s no other option.

 

Leave a Reply

